Adina Sommer`s Rare Antique Maps and Contemporary Art

Li regni di Swvezia, danimarca, et Norvegia con le confinanti Provincia Russe della Carelia Ingria e Livonia

  • Translation

Original:

360.00 €

Enquiry

Article ID EUS1239
Artist Zatta (1757-1797)
Antonio Zatta (1757 – 1797) was an Italian cartographer who was based in Venice. One of his major contributions include the Atlante Novissimo, a four volume atlas of the world in very high scientific quality.
Title Li regni di Swvezia, danimarca, et Norvegia con le confinanti Provincia Russe della Carelia Ingria e Livonia
Year ca. 1780
Description div> Map shows the whole of Scandinavia with Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Livonia (today Latvia and Estonia) and a magnificent title cartouche
Scandinavia characterized by common ethnocultural North Germanic heritage and mutually intelligible North Germanic languages The term Scandinavia in local usage covers the three kingdoms of Denmark, Norway, and Sweden, but in English usage, it also sometimes refers to the Scandinavian Peninsula or to the broader region which includes Finland and Iceland This broader region is usually known locally as the Nordic countries. The remote
Map shows the whole of Scandinavia with Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Livonia (today Latvia and Estonia) and a magnificent title cartouche
Norwegian islands of Svalbard and Jan Mayen are usually not seen as a part of Scandinavia, nor is Greenland, a constituent country within the Kingdom of Denmark. The Faroe Islands may be included. For more than 500 years there was a common ground in the field of foreign policy, from the attack by the Danish king Chlochilaicus on Gaul (517) to the unfortunate move by Harald Hardrades against England in 1066, the Vikings carried out their raids and raids on all European coastal areas, but also deep into Russia stretch. For a long time, another commonality was the rejection of Christianity in times when it had been common in Western Europe for centuries. In addition, the great importance of the Jarle, who were initially only leaders of raids, but as such became very rich and powerful, is characteristic of this period. For this reason, fiefdom in Scandinavia developed much more slowly than in core Europe, and serfdom did not become fully established. In addition to these general similarities, there were also times when several of the Scandinavian countries were united under one rule, such as Denmark, Norway and (more relaxed) Sweden as well as England under Knut the Great from 1028 to 1035, as well as England. Denmark and Norway were soon under the common rule of Magnus the Good from 1042 to 1046. But the main time of the common political development lies in the Kalmar Union, which the countries of Denmark, Norway and Sweden were linked from 1397 to 1523. During this period, Norway lost significant political independence, so that after Sweden left the Kalmar Union with the Danish-Norwegian personal union, there was practically Danish dominance until 1814, which was replaced in 1814 by the Swedish-Norwegian union, which continued until 1905.
Place of Publication Venice
Dimensions (cm)30 x 40
ConditionRight margin replaced
Coloringoriginal colored
TechniqueCopper print

Reproduction:

54.00 €

( A reproduction can be ordered individually on request. )

Adina Sommer`s antike Landkarten und zeitgenössische Kunst

Li regni di Swvezia, danimarca, et Norvegia con le confinanti Provincia Russe della Carelia Ingria e Livonia

  • Translation

Original:

360.00 €

Anfrage

Artikel ID EUS1239
Stecher Zatta Antonio (1757-1797)
Antonio Zatta (1757 – 1797) war ein italienischer Kartograph und lebte in Venedig. Eine seiner größten Werke war der Atlante Novisimo, ein in 4 Bänden erschienener Weltatlas mit für seine Zeit, außergewöhnlich hoher wissenschaftlicher Qualität.
Titel Li regni di Swvezia, danimarca, et Norvegia con le confinanti Provincia Russe della Carelia Ingria e Livonia
Zeit ca. 1780
Beschreibung
Karte zeigt gesamt Skandinavien mit Norwegen, Schweden, Dänemark, Finnland, Livonia (heute Lettland und Estland) und eine prachtvolle Titelkartusche

Im geographischen Sinn ist Skandinavien die Skandinavische Halbinsel, auf der sich die Staaten Norwegen und Schweden sowie der Nordwesten Finnlands befinden. Aus geschichtlicher Sicht und in sprachlich-kultureller Hinsicht setzt sich Skandinavien im engeren Sinne aus Schweden, Norwegen und Dänemark zusammen. Im weiteren Sinne werden auch ganz Finnland und seltener Island und die Färöer zu Skandinavien gezählt.
Über 500 Jahre bestand quasi eine Gemeinsamkeit im außenpolitischen Bereich, als vom Überfall des dänischen Kleinkönigs Chlochilaicus auf Gallien (517) bis zum unglücklichen Zug Harald Hardrades gegen England 1066 die Wikinger ihre Raub- und Kriegszüge auf alle europäischen Küstengebiete, aber auch bis tief nach Russland ausdehnten. Eine andere Gemeinsamkeit stellt lange Zeit die Ablehnung des Christentums dar in Zeiten, als es im westlichen Europa schon Jahrhunderte verbreitet war. Außerdem ist die große Bedeutung der Jarle, die zunächst nur Anführer von Beutezügen waren, als solche aber sehr reich und mächtig wurden, für diese Zeit charakteristisch. Deshalb entwickelte sich das Lehnswesen in Skandinavien deutlich langsamer als in Kerneuropa, und die Leibeigenschaft setzte sich nicht vollständig durch. Neben diesen allgemeinen Gemeinsamkeiten gab es aber auch Zeiten, in denen mehrere der skandinavischen Länder unter einer Herrschaft vereinigt waren, so waren schon unter Knut dem Großen von 1028 bis 1035 Dänemark, Norwegen und (lockerer) Schweden sowie auch England in einem Nordseereich vereinigt. Dänemark und Norwegen standen bald darauf von 1042 bis 1046 unter der gemeinsamen Herrschaft Magnus des Guten. Doch die Hauptzeit der gemeinsamen politischen Entwicklung liegt in der Kalmarer Union, der die Länder Dänemark, Norwegen und Schweden von 1397 bis 1523 in Personalunion verbunden waren. In dieser Zeit verlor Norwegen deutlich an politischer Selbständigkeit, so dass nach dem Ausscheiden Schwedens aus der Kalmarer Union mit der dänisch-norwegischen Personalunion bis 1814 praktisch eine dänische Vorherrschaft bestand, die 1814 von der schwedisch-norwegischen Union abgelöst wurde, die bis 1905 andauerte.
Erscheinungsort Venedig
Größe (cm)30 x 40
ZustandRänder rechts fachmännisch ergänzt
Koloritaltkoloriert
TechnikKupferstich

Nachdruck:

54.00 €

( Ein Nachdruck kann auf Anfrage individuell bestellt werden. )