La Guinea Orientale che contiene li Regni di Loango, Congo Angola e Benguela

  • Translation

Article ID AF0537


La Guinea Orientale che contiene li Regni di Loango, Congo Angola e Benguela


Map shows the south-west coast with Cameroon, Gabon, up to the town of Pointe-Noire in the Congo and a title cartouche.


c. 1784


Zatta (1757-1797)

Antonio Zatta (1757 – 1797) was an Italian cartographer who was based in Venice. One of his major contributions include the Atlante Novissimo, a four volume atlas of the world in very high scientific quality.

Historical Description

The name Gabon is derived from the Portuguese word "Gabão" and means "cloak". When Portuguese sailors reached the country's coast in the 15th century, they gave the name Gabão to the mouth of the Komo River because of its peculiar shape. After settling the area, the French settlers gained a first sovereignty over the territory in 1839. In 1854 Gabon was united with Gorée and other French settlements, and Gorée was reincorporated into Senegal in 1858. In 1888 Gabon became part of French Congo, and in 1910 it was separated again as an independent part of French Equatorial Africa. When French Equatorial Africa was dissolved in 1958, Gabon gained autonomy as the Gabonese Republic. Rich natural resources and a liberal economic policy favored Gabon's economic development. Gabon is thus one of the richest countries in sub-Saharan Africa.

Place of Publication Venice
Dimensions (cm)41 x 32 cm
ConditionPerfect condition
Coloringoriginal colored
TechniqueCopper print


43.50 €

( A reproduction can be ordered individually on request. )