Adina Sommer`s Rare Antique Maps and Contemporary Art

Urbium Praecipuarum totius mundi. Liber tertius

  • Translation

Article ID T0140
Artist Braun/Hogenberg (1572-1618)
Frans Hogenberg (1535 – 1590) was a Flemish and German painter, engraver, and mapmaker. Hogenberg was born in Mechelen as the son of Nicolaas Hogenberg In 1568 he was banned from Antwerp by the Duke of Alva. He travelled to London, where he stayed a few years before emigrating to Cologne. He is known for portraits and topographical views as well as historical allegories. He also produced scenes of contemporary historical events. George Braun (1541-1622), a cleric of Cologne, was the principal editor of the "Civitates Orbis Terrarum". The first volume of the Civitates Orbis Terrarum was published in Cologne in 1572. The sixth and the final volume appeared in 1617. This great city atlas, edited by Georg Braun and largely engraved by Franz Hogenberg, eventually contained 546 prospects, bird-eye views and map views of cities from all over the world. Braun (1541-1622), a cleric of Cologne, was the principal editor of the work, and was greatly assisted in his project by the close, and continued interest of Abraham Ortelius, whose Theatrum Orbis Terrarum of 1570 was, as a systematic and comprehensive collection of maps of uniform style, the first true atlas.
Title Urbium Praecipuarum totius mundi. Liber tertius
Year ca. 1616
Description Title page from volume three of a Latin edition of this monumental work on the great cities of the world. The title is engraved on an architectural monument around which seven female figures from Roman mythology gather. Such as: Justitia (justice), Concordia (unity and unity of the citizens of Rome), Securitas (security, free from worries), Pax (peace), Communitas and Opulentia. From Braun & Hogenberg's & Civitates Orbis Terrarum was published between 1572 and 1617.
The title page is one of the most important parts of the "front matter" or "preliminaries" of a book, as the data on it and its verso (together known as the "title leaf") are used to establish the "title proper and usually, though not necessarily, the statement of responsibility and the data relating to publication".This determines the way the book is cited in library catalogs and academic references. The title page often shows the title of the work, the person or body responsible for its intellectual content, and the imprint, which contains the name and address of the book's publisher and its date of publication. Particularly in paperback editions it may contain a shorter title than the cover or lack a descriptive subtitle. Further information about the publication of the book, including its copyright information, is frequently printed on the verso of the title page. The first printed books, or incunabula, did not have title pages: the text simply begins on the first page, and the book is often identified by the initial words—the incipit—of the text proper. Maps were usually published in atlases. And atlases were books with titles. And, again, titles were individual pieces of art. A publisher emphazised the importance of a book he published with a spectacular entrée. Usually the pictures of an atlas title page pertained in general to the subject matter: Measuring instruments, mythologigal, astronomical, religious, scientific, allegorical hints and facts were united in a composition which depicted the pride of progress in knowledge. An atlas title page often is just one superb artistic and jubilant cartouche.
Place of Publication Cologne
Dimensions (cm)35,5 x 22,5 cm
ConditionPerfect condition
Coloringoriginal colored
TechniqueCopper print

Reproduction:

97.50 €

( A reproduction can be ordered individually on request. )

Adina Sommer`s antike Landkarten und zeitgenössische Kunst

Urbium Praecipuarum totius mundi. Liber tertius

  • Translation

Artikel ID T0140
Stecher Braun/Hogenberg Franz/ Georg (1572-1618)
Frans Hogenberg ( 1535 -1590) war ein Kupferstecher und Radierer, der 1572 zusammen mit Georg Braun das Städteansichtenbuch Civitates Orbis Terrarum herausgab.Im Jahre 1570 hatte der Niederländer Abraham Ortelius seinen berühmten Weltatlas Theatrum Orbis Terrarum veröffentlicht – der erste seiner Art. Schefold übersetzte den Titel mit Beschreibung und Contrafactur der Vornembster Stät der Welt. Der Atlas war ein großer Erfolg und deshalb wohl Anreiz für die Edition der Civitates Orbis Terrarum, die in Größe und Gestaltung dem Weltatlas von Ortelius recht ähnlich aufgemacht und wohl auch als eine Ergänzung gedacht waren. Das Druckwerk Civitates Orbis Terrarum umfasst über 600 wirklichkeitsnahe Stadtansichten und Stadtpläne mit einem Gesamtumfang von ca. 1.600 Seiten im Format 280×410 mm. Sie wurden in sechs Bänden zwischen 1572 und 1618 herausgegeben und zeigten alle größeren Städte in Europa, Afrika, Asien und sogar in Amerika. Als Verleger fungierte Georg Braun, ein Theologe, der von 1541 bis 1622 lebte. Frans Hogenberg war der Graveur für die ersten 4 Bände. Er schuf schon zuvor verschiedene Landkarten für Abraham Ortelius.
Titel Urbium Praecipuarum totius mundi. Liber tertius
Zeit ca. 1616
Beschreibung Titelblatt aus Band drei einer lateinischen Ausgabe dieses monumentalen Werks über die großen Städte der Welt. Der Titel ist in ein architektonisches Denkmal eingraviert, um das sich sieben weibliche Figuren aus der römischen Mythologie versammeln. Wie zum Beispiel: Justitia (Gerechtigkeit), Concordia (Eintracht und Einheit der Bürger Roms), Securitas (Sicherheit, frei von Sorgen), Pax (Frieden), Communitas und Opulentia. Aus Braun Hogenberg's Civitates Orbis Terrarum, wurde zwischen 1572 und 1617 veröffentlicht.
Die Titelseite ist einer der wichtigsten Teile der "Titelseite" oder "Vorbereitungen" eines Buches, da die Daten darauf und seine Rückseite (zusammen als "Titelblatt" bekannt) verwendet werden, um den "eigentlichen Titel" festzulegen und normalerweise, wenn auch nicht unbedingt, die Verantwortlichkeitserklärung und die Daten in Bezug auf die Veröffentlichung ". Dies bestimmt die Art und Weise, wie das Buch in Bibliothekskatalogen und wissenschaftlichen Referenzen zitiert wird.Die Titelseite zeigt häufig den Titel des Werks, die Person oder Stelle, die für seinen geistigen Inhalt verantwortlich ist, und das Impressum, das den Namen und die Adresse des Herausgebers des Buches sowie das Datum seiner Veröffentlichung enthält. Insbesondere in Taschenbuchausgaben kann es einen kürzeren Titel als das Cover enthalten oder keinen beschreibenden Untertitel haben. Weitere Informationen zur Veröffentlichung des Buches, einschließlich seiner Copyright-Informationen, sind häufig auf der Rückseite der Titelseite abgedruckt. Die ersten gedruckten Bücher oder Inkunabeln hatten keine Titelseiten: Der Text beginnt einfach auf der ersten Seite, und das Buch wird häufig durch die Anfangswörter - den Incipit - des eigentlichen Textes identifiziert.Karten wurden normalerweise in Atlanten veröffentlicht. Und Atlanten waren Bücher mit Titeln. Auch hier waren Titel einzelne Kunstwerke. Ein Verleger betonte die Bedeutung eines Buches, das er mit einem spektakulären Entrée veröffentlichte. Normalerweise bezogen sich die Bilder einer Atlas-Titelseite im Allgemeinen auf das Thema: Messinstrumente, mythologische, astronomische, religiöse, wissenschaftliche, allegorische Hinweise und Fakten wurden in einer Komposition vereint, die den Stolz des Wissensfortschritts darstellte. Eine Atlas-Titelseite ist oft nur eine hervorragende künstlerische und ausdrucksvolle Kartusche.
Besonderheiten Fürstliche Ausgabe - golderhöht
Erscheinungsort Köln
Größe (cm)35,5 x 22,5 cm
ZustandPerfekter Zustand
Koloritaltkoloriert
TechnikKupferstich

Nachdruck:

97.50 €

( Ein Nachdruck kann auf Anfrage individuell bestellt werden. )