Adina Sommer`s Rare Antique Maps and Contemporary Art

La Hongrie. Suivant les Nouvelles Observations de Mesasrs. De l’ Academie Royale des Sciences, etc.

  • Translation

Article ID EUH4240
Artist Aa, van der (1695-1733)
Pieter van der Aa ( 1659 - 1733) was a Dutch publisher best known for preparing maps and atlases, though he also printed pirated editions of foreign bestsellers and illustrated volumes. He also printed many maps that were often out of print, which he reissued. Some of his most popular maps were of the African continent, detailing locations such as Morocco and Madagascar. Many of his later works were printed for the general public in French and Dutch. Pieter van der Aa began his career at Leiden in 1683 as a Latin trade publisher, publishing classical texts pertaining to medicine and science. As he progressed, he began to publish atlases and maps, compiling numerous multi-volume collections of works. His ambition to become Leiden's most famous printer was fulfilled in 1715 with his appointment to head printer for the city and its university. One of Pieter van der Aa's largest compilations relates to the history of Italy and Sicily, an area of immense personal interest. Though he took credit for many of his compilations, several, such as the Dutch collection of travels to the East and West Indies, were admittedly simple improvements to others' works.
Title La Hongrie. Suivant les Nouvelles Observations de Mesasrs. De l’ Academie Royale des Sciences, etc.
Year ca. 1720
Description Map shows total Ungarn, Bohemia, Moravia, Croatia, Dalmatia, Slovenia, Bosnia, Serbia, Romania, Bulgaria, partly Austria, Slesia, Poland, Albania, Greece, Turkey and a beautiful cartouche.
The Kingdom of Hungary existed in changing borders from 1001 to 1918 and 1920 to 1946, originating in what is now western Hungary and subsequently expanding its domain to include the entire territory of present-day Hungary, as well as the territory of Transylvania, the Kreish and Maramures (both in the Romanian part of the Partium), Slovakia, Vojvodina, the Romanian part of the Banat, Carpatho-Ukraine, Burgenland, Prekmurje, Croatia (except Dalmatia and Istria) and some smaller territories. The first king of the kingdom was Stephen I the Saint from the ruling dynasty of the Árpáds, who was formally recognized as king of Hungary in 1001, when Pope Silvester II granted him the title of "Apostolic Majesty". In 1396, the Ottomans had to face a crusader army under the Hungarian king and later emperor Sigismund, which was crushingly defeated at the Battle of Nicopolis. The European powers, first and foremost the Holy Roman Empire, which had not considered the Ottomans as a serious threat for too long, were faced with the ruins of their policies concerning the Ottoman Empire at the latest with the fall of the medieval Kingdom of Hungary (1526). In the following decades, therefore, the only thing that mattered was to prevent, as far as possible, the further advance of the Ottomans towards Central Europe. In 1526 the decision in the fight against the Ottoman Empire followed in the Battle of Mohács. The Hungarian King Louis II fell in the battle. The following Hungarian Civil War, in which John I was supported by the Turks, ended in 1538 with the Peace of Grosswardein. John Zápolya and Ferdinand were both allowed to continue to use the Hungarian royal title and to rule a part of Hungary. To forestall Habsburg claims, Suleyman I intervened and occupied Buda and central Hungary. Hungary was divided into three parts after 1540 according to the power relations created. The exact demarcation of the borders between the individual parts varied considerably. After the Habsburgs and their allies had pushed the Ottoman Empire back to the territories south of the Danube and the Sava and fixed this in the Peace of Karlowitz in 1699, the Kingdom of Hungary, which had never disappeared de jure, was also restored de facto. The k.u.k. Monarchy existed until its defeat in World War I, when Hungary denounced the Real Union as of October 31, 1918. A short time later, the Hungarian Republic was proclaimed. The kingdom was under several foreign dominations in its history and regained its sovereignty in 1867 as a federal (partial) state of Austria-Hungary.
Place of Publication Leiden
Dimensions (cm)26 x 38 cm
ConditionTear on lower part perfectly restored
Coloringoriginal colored
TechniqueCopper print

Reproduction:

57.00 €

( A reproduction can be ordered individually on request. )

Adina Sommer`s antike Landkarten und zeitgenössische Kunst

La Hongrie. Suivant les Nouvelles Observations de Mesasrs. De l‘ Academie Royale des Sciences, etc.

  • Translation

Artikel ID EUH4240
Stecher Aa, van der Peter (1695-1733)
Pieter van der Aa, auch Peter van der Aa (1659 - 1733) war ein niederländischer Buchdrucker, Verleger und Buchhändler. Er wurde bekannt wegen seiner zahlreichen Ausgaben von überarbeiteten Atlanten anderer Kartographen. Er verfeinerte und kompletierte diese und gab sie mit neuen Illustrationen herraus. Seine bekanntesten Atlaten betrafen Afrika, welche zu dieser Zeit sehr genau Marocco und Madagascar beschrieb und Italien mit Sizilien welches ihn sowohl geschichtlich als auch wohl privat am meisten interessierte.
Titel La Hongrie. Suivant les Nouvelles Observations de Mesasrs. De l‘ Academie Royale des Sciences, etc.
Zeit ca. 1720
Beschreibung Karte zeigt gesamt Ungarn mit Böhmen, Moravia, Kroatien, Dalmatien, Slovenien, Bosnien, Rumänien, Serbien, Bulgarien, teilweise Österreich, Schlesien, Polen, Albanien, Griechenland, Türkei und einer prachvollen Titelkartusche.
Das Königreich Ungarn bestand in wechselnden Grenzen von 1001 bis 1918 und 1920 bis 1946. Es entstand im heutigen Westungarn und vergrößerte seinen Herrschaftsbereich in der Folgezeit auf das Gebiet des gesamten heutigen Ungarns sowie das Gebiet von Siebenbürgen, das Kreischgebiet und Maramuresch (beides im rumänischen Teil des Partiums), die Slowakei, die Vojvodina, den rumänischen Teil des Banats, die Karpatenukraine, das Burgenland, Prekmurje, Kroatien (außer Dalmatien und Istrien) und einige kleinere Gebiete. Der erste König des Königreichs war Stephan I. der Heilige aus der Herrscherdynastie der Árpáden, der 1001 formell als König von Ungarn anerkannt wurde, als Papst Silvester II. ihm den Titel „Apostolische Majestät“ verlieh. 1396 mussten sich die Osmanen einem Kreuzfahrerheer unter dem ungarischen König und späteren Kaiser Sigismund stellen, das in der Schlacht von Nikopolis vernichtend geschlagen wurde. Die europäischen Mächte, allen voran das Heilige Römische Reich, welche die Osmanen zu lange nicht als ernstzunehmende Gefahr betrachtet hatten, standen spätestens mit dem Untergang des mittelalterlichen Königreichs Ungarn (1526) vor den Trümmern ihrer das Osmanische Reich betreffenden Politik. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten ging es daher nur mehr darum, das weitere Vordringen der Osmanen in Richtung Mitteleuropa möglichst zu verhindern. 1526 folgte die Entscheidung im Kampf gegen das Osmanische Reich in der Schlacht von Mohács. Der ungarische König Ludwig II. fiel in der Schlacht. Der folgende Ungarische Bürgerkrieg, in dem Johann I. von den Türken unterstützt wurde, endete 1538 mit dem Frieden von Großwardein. Johann Zápolya und Ferdinand durften weiterhin beide den ungarischen Königstitel führen und einen Teil Ungarns beherrschen. Um den habsburgischen Ansprüchen zuvorzukommen, intervenierte Süleyman I. und besetzte Buda und Zentralungarn. Ungarn wurde entsprechend den geschaffenen Machtverhältnissen nach 1540 in drei Teile geteilt. Dabei variierte die genaue Grenzziehung zwischen den einzelnen Teilen beträchtlich. Nachdem die Habsburger und ihre Verbündeten das Osmanische Reich auf die Gebiete südlich der Donau und der Save zurückgedrängt und dies 1699 im Frieden von Karlowitz fixiert hatten, wurde das Königreich Ungarn, das de jure nie verschwunden war, auch de facto wiederhergestellt. Die k.u.k. Monarchie bestand bis zur Niederlage im Ersten Weltkrieg, als Ungarn die Realunion per 31. Oktober 1918 aufkündigte. Wenig später wurde die (Volks-)Republik Ungarnausgerufen. Das Königreich stand in seiner Geschichte unter mehreren Fremdherrschaften und erlangte 1867 als föderaler (Teil)-Staat Österreich-Ungarns seine Souveränität zurück.
Erscheinungsort Leiden
Größe (cm)26 x 38 cm
ZustandRiß unten fachmännisch restauriert
Koloritaltkoloriert
TechnikKupferstich

Nachdruck:

57.00 €

( Ein Nachdruck kann auf Anfrage individuell bestellt werden. )