Il Regno di Candia

  • Translation

Article ID EUK2884

Title

Il Regno di Candia

Description

Map shows the island of Crete with beautiful representations of seamonsters and sailing ships. The map is based on the important map of Basilicatat. A fine example from a Creta view from the early Lafreri school.

Year

ca. 1660

Artist

Boschini (1602-1681)

Marco Boschini (1602-1681) was an Italian painter and engraver of the early Baroque period in Venice. He also distinguished himself as an engraver and as a writer on art. He was the author of several publications, such as: La Carta del Navegar pittoresco (1660), a panygic poem on Venetian painting; Le minere della pittura veneziana (1664) and Le ricche minere della pittura veneziana (1674), two city guides of Venice; I gioieli pittoreschi. Virtuoso ornamento della città di Vicenza (1676), a city guide of Vicenza. In the field of cartography, he is probably known for his work on Crete and the publication of a book of 3 important maps of Crete. Derived from the handwritten maps of Francesco Basilicata. Francesco Basilicata (died c. 1640) was an Italian cartographer and military engineer of the 17th century. Basilicata worked in the service of the Republic of Venice and is known for his maps and drawings of the island of Crete. Very little is known about Basilicata's life. Upon his return home, he would have taken the surname Basilicata. However, it is certain that Basilicata lived in Crete for several years in the first decades of the 17th century, towards the end of the Venetian presence on the island.

Historical Description

The island of Creta is first described in texts from the Syrian city of Mari in the 18th century BC. BC called Kaptara, which are later repeated in Neoassyrian records and in the Bible (Caphtor). It was also known as Keftiu in ancient Egypt, strongly suggesting that a shape similar to both was the Minoan name for the island.

Place of Publication Venice
Dimensions (cm)33 x 82
ConditionWormholes perfectly restored
Coloringoriginal colored
TechniqueCopper print

Reproduction:

828.00 €

( A reproduction can be ordered individually on request. )

Il Regno di Candia

  • Translation

Artikel ID EUK2884

Titel

Il Regno di Candia

Beschreibung

Karte zeigt die Insel Kreta mit prachtvollen Darstellungen von Seeungeheuern und Schiffen. Sie basiert auf der Karte von Kreta von Basilicata. Ein Original der Basilicata Wandkarte hängt in der Nationlabibliothek in Paris. Ein schönes Beispiel für eine Kreta-Ansicht aus der frühen Lafreri-Schule.

Zeit

ca. 1660

Stecher

Boschini Marco (1602-1681)

Marco Boschini (1602-1681) war ein italienischer Maler und Kupferstecher des frühen Barock in Venedig. Er zeichnete sich auch als Kupferstecher und als Kunstschriftsteller aus. Er war der Autor mehrerer Publikationen, wie z. B.: La Carta del Navegar pittoresco (1660), ein panygisches Gedicht über die venezianische Malerei; Le minere della pittura veneziana (1664) und Le ricche minere della pittura veneziana (1674), zwei Stadtführer von Venedig; I gioieli pittoreschi. Virtuoso ornamento della città di Vicenza (1676), ein Stadtführer von Vicenza. Im Bereich der Kartographie ist er wahrscheinlich für seine Arbeit über Kreta und die Veröffentlichung eines Buches mit 3 wichtigen Karten von Kreta bekannt. Abgeleitet von den handschriftlichen Karten von Francesco Basilicata. Francesco Basilicata (gestorben um 1640) war ein italienischer Kartograph und Militäringenieur des 17. Jahrhunderts. Basilicata arbeitete im Dienste der Republik Venedig und ist bekannt für seine Karten und Zeichnungen der Insel Kreta. Über das Leben von Basilicata ist sehr wenig bekannt. Nach seiner Rückkehr in die Heimat hätte er den Nachnamen Basilicata angenommen. Sicher ist jedoch, dass Basilicata in den ersten Jahrzehnten des 17. Jahrhunderts, also gegen Ende der venezianischen Präsenz auf der Insel, mehrere Jahre auf Kreta lebte.

Historische Beschreibung

Die Insel Kreta wird zuerst in Texten aus der syrischen Stadt Mari aus dem 18. Jahrhundert v. Chr. Als Kaptara bezeichnet, die später in neoassyrischen Aufzeichnungen und in der Bibel (Caphtor) wiederholt werden. Es war auch im alten Ägypten als Keftiu bekannt, was stark darauf hindeutet, dass eine ähnliche Form wie beide der minoische Name für die Insel war.

Besonderheiten Sehr selten
Erscheinungsort Venedig
Größe (cm)33 x 82
ZustandWurmlöcher fachmännisch hinterlegt
Koloritaltkoloriert
TechnikKupferstich

Nachdruck:

828.00 €

( Ein Nachdruck kann auf Anfrage individuell bestellt werden. )