Atlas Celeste de Flamsteed, approuve par l’Academie

  • Translation

Article ID B0214

Title

Atlas Celeste de Flamsteed, approuve par l’Academie

Description

Atlas Celeste de Flamsteed. Magnificent celestial atlas with 30 double-leaf copper engraved maps. Of which 29 magnificent figurative constellations. Rare colored edition. First edition published byJean Fortin and revised by him. Compared to the first edition, it was enlarged by 3 maps, among them the star map of the southern hemisphere by N. L. de Lacaille, who, in the spirit of the Enlightenment, provided newly discovered constellations with names and symbols of technical devices and instruments.

Year

c. 1776

Artist

Flamsteed (1646-1719)

John Flamsteed (1646 - 1719 ) was an English astronomer and since 1675 the first court astronomer (Astronomer Royal) of the English royal house. When Charles II was looking for a royal astronomer, Flamsteed was suggested to him. In 1675 he was appointed by royal decree as The King's Astronomical Observator and was the first Astronomer Royal. At Flamsteed's suggestion, another royal decree in 1675 prompted the establishment of the Royal Greenwich Observatory, for which Flamsteed laid the foundation stone in August. In February 1676 he became a member of the Royal Society, and in July he moved to the observatory, where he lived until he was appointed minister of the parish of Burstow in Surrey in 1684. He exercised this profession and that of Astronomer Royal until his death in 1719. Flamsteed is also known for his quarrel with Isaac Newton, who was then president of the Royal Society. Newton tried to steal some of Flamsteed's observations and pass them off as his own, which he succeeded in doing with the help of a royal edict; Newton arranged for Flamsteed's observations to be published. He then published them without naming Flamsteed as the discoverer. Years later, Flamsteed managed to buy back most copies of the published books, and he eventually burned them publicly in front of the Royal Observatory. He collected data on some 2,800 stars visible over England, which he observed with instruments he built mostly himself, and devised a system for naming them systematically with the so-called Flamsteed numbers, which is still used today. This system first appeared in his Historia coelestis Britannica, published by Newton in 1712, but without authorization by Flamsteed. After Flamsteed's death, another edition of the Historia supplemented by Edmond Halley appeared in 1725, and the Atlas coelestis in 1729. In 1666 and 1668 Flamsteed accurately predicted solar eclipses.

Historical Description

The history of western astrology can be traced back to pre-Christian times in Babylonia or Mesopotamia and Egypt. Its basic principles of interpretation and calculation, which are still recognizable today, were learned by astrology in the Hellenistic Greek-Egyptian city of Alexandria. Astronomy emerged from it as meaningless observation and mathematical recording of the starry sky, and it remained associated with it for a long time as an auxiliary science. Astrology had an eventful history in Europe. After the elevation of Christianity to the state religion in the Roman Empire, it was partly fought, partly adapted to Christianity and temporarily pushed aside. In the course of the early Middle Ages, astrology, especially the learned astronomy-astrology, revived in the Byzantine Empire from around the late 8th century, as also somewhat later in the Muslim Al-Andalus on the Iberian Peninsula. From the later High Middle Ages and especially in the Renaissance to the 17th century, it was widely regarded as a science in Europe, always combined with astronomy in the quadrivium of the seven liberal arts that had been taught at universities. In the course of the Enlightenment, however, it lost its plausibility in educated circles.

Place of Publication Paris
Dimensions (cm)23 x 16 cm
ConditionBinding in hardcover with leather embossed in gold
Coloringoriginal colored
TechniqueCopper print

Reproduction:

975.00 €

( A reproduction can be ordered individually on request. )

Atlas Celeste de Flamsteed, approuve par l’Academie

  • Translation

Artikel ID B0214

Titel

Atlas Celeste de Flamsteed, approuve par l’Academie

Beschreibung

Atlas Celeste de Flamsteed, Prachtvoller Himmelsatlas mit 30 doppelblatt Kupferkarten. Davon 29 figürliche Sternbilder.Seltene kolorierte Ausgabe. Erste bei Jean Fortin erschienen und von ihm überarbeitete Ausgabe. Sie wurde gegenüber der Original Ausgabe um 3 Karten vermehrt, darunter die Sternkarte der südlichen Hemisphäre von N. L. de Lacaille, der ganz im Sinne der Aufklärung, neu entdeckte Sternbilder mit Namen und Symbolen von technischen Geräten und Instrumenten versah.

Zeit

ca. 1776

Stecher

Flamsteed John (1646-1719)

John Flamsteed (1646 - 1719 ) war ein englischer Astronom und seit 1675 der erste Hofastronom (Astronomer Royal) des englischen Königshauses. Als Karl II. einen königlichen Astronomen suchte, wurde ihm Flamsteed vorgeschlagen. 1675 wurde dieser durch königlichen Erlass zum The King's Astronomical Observator, dem „Astronomischen Beobachter des Königs“ ernannt und war damit der erste Astronomer Royal. Auf Flamsteeds Vorschlag veranlasste 1675 ein weiterer königlicher Erlass die Gründung des Royal Greenwich Observatory, für das Flamsteed im August den Grundstein legte. Im Februar 1676 wurde er Mitglied der Royal Society und im Juli zog er an das Observatorium, in dem er lebte, bis er 1684 zum Pfarrer der Gemeinde von Burstow in Surrey berufen wurde. Diesen Beruf und den des Astronomer Royal übte er bis zu seinem Tod 1719 aus. Flamsteed ist auch für seinen Streit mit Isaac Newton bekannt, der damals Präsident der Royal Society war. Newton versuchte, einige von Flamsteeds Beobachtungen zu stehlen und als seine eigenen auszugeben, was ihm mit Hilfe eines königlichen Edikts auch gelang; Newton veranlasste die Veröffentlichung der Beobachtungen von Flamsteed. Anschließend veröffentlichte er sie, ohne Flamsteed als Entdecker zu nennen. Jahre später gelang es Flamsteed, die meisten Kopien der veröffentlichten Bücher zurückzukaufen, und er verbrannte sie schließlich öffentlich vor dem Royal Observatory. Er sammelte die Daten von rund 2.800 über England sichtbaren Sternen, die er mit zum größten Teil selbst gebauten Instrumenten beobachtete, und ersann ein System zu ihrer systematischen Benennung mit den so genannten Flamsteed-Nummern, das auch heute noch verwendet wird. Dieses System tauchte erstmals in seiner Historia coelestis Britannica auf, die 1712 von Newton veröffentlicht wurde, jedoch ohne Autorisierung durch Flamsteed. Nach Flamsteeds Tod erschien 1725 eine von Edmond Halley ergänzte weitere Ausgabe der Historia und 1729 der Atlas coelestis. In den Jahren 1666 und 1668 berechnete Flamsteed die Sonnenfinsternisse präzise voraus.

Historische Beschreibung

Die Geschichte der westlichen Astrologie lässt sich in ihren Ursprüngen bis in die vorchristliche Zeit in Babylonien bzw. Mesopotamien und Ägypten zurückverfolgen. Ihre in Grundzügen noch heute erkennbaren Deutungs- und Berechnungsgrundlagen erfuhr die Astrologie im hellenistisch geprägten griechisch-ägyptischen Alexandria. Aus ihr ging die Astronomie als deutungsfreie Beobachtung und mathematische Erfassung des Sternenhimmels hervor, und sie blieb lange Zeit als Hilfswissenschaft mit ihr verbunden. In Europa hatte die Astrologie eine wechselvolle Geschichte. Nach der Erhebung des Christentums zur Staatsreligion im Römischen Reich wurde sie teils bekämpft, teils ans Christentum angepasst und zeitweilig auch ins Abseits gedrängt. Im Laufe des Frühmittelalters lebte die Astrologie, vor allem die gelehrte Astronomie-Astrologie, im Byzantinischen Reich etwa ab dem späten 8. Jh. erneut auf, wie etwas später auch im muslimischen Al-Andalus auf der Iberischen Halbinsel. Vom späteren Hochmittelalter an und vor allem in der Renaissance bis ins 17. Jahrhundert galt sie in Europa, immer verbunden mit der Astronomie im Quadrivium der vorbereitend an den Universitäten gelehrten Sieben Freie Künste, vielfach als eine Wissenschaft, wenn auch als durchaus umstrittene. Im Zuge der Aufklärung verlor sie jedoch in gebildeten Kreisen ihre Plausibilität.

Besonderheiten 2. Ausgabe, selten
Erscheinungsort Paris
Größe (cm)23 x 16 cm
ZustandEinband Hartkarton und Leder mit Goldprägung
Koloritaltkoloriert
TechnikKupferstich

Nachdruck:

975.00 €

( Ein Nachdruck kann auf Anfrage individuell bestellt werden. )