Adina Sommer`s Rare Antique Maps and Contemporary Art

Justura rubit est prius aut praes Jantius unguam..

  • Translation


700.00 €


Article ID EUD3122
Artist Apian (1495-1552)
Petrus Apianus (1495 –1552), also known as Peter Apian, was a German humanist, known for his works in mathematics, astronomy and cartography. The lunar crater Apianus and minor planet 19139 Apian are named in his honour. In 1540, Apian printed the Astronomicum Caesareum, dedicated to Charles V. Charles promised him a truly royal, appointed him his court mathematician, and made him a Reichsritter (a Free Imperial Knight) and in 1544 even an Imperial Count Palatine. All this furthered Apian's reputation as an eminent scientist. Apian's work included in mathematics—in 1527 he published a variation of Pascal's triangle, and in 1534 a table of sines— as well as astronomy. In 1531, he observed a comet and discovered that a comet's tail always point away from the sun. (Girolamo Fracastoro also detected this in 1531, but Apian's publication was the first to also include graphics.) He designed sundials, published manuals for astronomical instruments and crafted volvelles (Apian wheels), measuring instruments useful for calculating time and distance for astronomical and astrological applications. Apian was followed by his son Philipp (1531–1589), who, in addition to his own research, preserved the legacy of his father.
Title Justura rubit est prius aut praes Jantius unguam..
Year ca. 1563
Description Map depicts the lower right part of the famous Apain general-bavaria map. This shows the Austrian part with Salzbug, St.Wolfgang, Speyer, Golling and the river Salzach.
Place of Publication Ingolstadt
Dimensions (cm)32,5 x 42,5
ConditionVery good
Coloringoriginal colored


105.00 €

( A reproduction can be ordered individually on request. )